How the Flu Hid the Mouse in the Wall

For over two weeks now I have had the flu. It started like most flu does with fever, chills and a sore throat. It then followed sort of a migratory pattern, which left me feeling recovered for part of a day while it shifted from one temporary place of residence to the next. The new spot would make me feel even worse than before. Sort of a cruel tease of a flu. I’d like to say I’m feeling better but I don’t fully have my sense of taste or smell and that tends to make me feel oddly disconnected from things.
I have, however, gotten enough of my sense of smell back to remind me that just prior to the flu we had a nasty horrible smell coming from the wall heater in the kitchen. I had been burning candles regularly to mask it and had wondered whether it might be possible to take the heater apart.

I’ve been watching old episodes of Bones so I think I might be hardened to whatever I might find in there. . . Then again I might not be quite hardened enough. Needless to say the mouse is still in the wall.

So all of this is a very long way of saying that there might actually be at least one good thing about the flu. I was completely unaware of the smell for at least two weeks. But let me be clear. So far I’ve only found one good thing.

0 Responses to “How the Flu Hid the Mouse in the Wall”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Shameless Commerce

Apple iTunes
The control-alt-delete playlist on itunes
icon
The books I list below I own myself or have read and recommend.

LEAP, What will we do for the rest of our lives?
Sara Davidson

I Feel Bad About My Neck
Nora Ephron

The Principles of Gardening
Hugh Johnson
This book is where you start. I have had it for years and still turn to it.

The Natural Garden
Ken Druse
This is the book I turn to for inspiration again and again. If you like your plants in straight lines this may not be the book for you.

This American Life

Finally My favorite radio show comes to TV!
This American Life